The Monkey is Back

My son had the most awesome time at camp and is home safe and sound.  Still nothing out of his “father”.  I spent a few hours with a good friend yesterday afternoon.  She was quite amazed that Ed could have been a “father” to a child for ten years and then seemingly forget that he exists.  It made me think more about all the efforts that I put in to try to get what I wanted.  I was throwing time, money and effort at a problem that is double what I have the capacity to solve.  Sometimes it makes me VERY angry and other times sad and disappointed.  Is it his addictions or is he really a bad person underneath it all?  Sometimes alcoholism and addiction are surprisingly like bi-polar disorder.

Leave a Reply

