Christmas Decisions

I have decided not to spend any money on Ed for Christmas this year.  I strongly suspect that he will not ask to see my son or deliver a gift to him, and since I would just as soon never see him again I’m not going to call and ask.  It feels kind of weird to be doing nothing for him, and yet, empowering.  If he calls I will offer him the belongings I have been storing as his gift. 

I have also decided that I will not buy a gift for my son and tell him that its from Ed.  I never did that for his biological father so why would I do it for Ed?  When my son is older hopefully he will recognize that Ed’s alcoholism and addictive personality had nothing to do with the two of us.  I try to live a pretty conventional life and show him that and I have to pray that its working.

Leave a Reply

