Resentment

This morning at work my office mate and I discussed a woman who applauds laziness on her website.  She likes to get up, drink coffee, complain about her children, and sit around the house while her husband works.  Her kids are old enough for her to work (middle school and high school) and her husband is a laborer at a local business.  They live in a rented duplex and their cars are both more than 10 years old.  If I were her husband I would be incredibly resentful being married to someone with so little ambition and drive.  I would also spend a lot of time insisting that she do something.

She is very much like the female version of Ed, but I don’t know if she has any addictions or not.  Ed liked to get up and get Erik ready for school and then spend time watching tv and surfing the internet.  He always made it to classes (oddly he liked that) but when it came to work there was rarely a motivator that could outwin something important like television or sports statistics.  When my son and I moved out he would get up in the morning and have breakfast at the grocery store down the street and sit around and BS with people there.  Ed wants to have the perks of working his whole life while doing as little as humanly possible and it made me resent him.  When we were first married I made him work and when he was home I made him clean the house and keep up with things.  Over time he wore me down with his refusals and his illness and addictions and I stopped yelling and pushing and stewed in my resentment.  I could have taken the bull by the horns and fought him to get a life but I gave up… and sometimes I wonder what would have happened if I hadn’t.   It appears that he has fallen into the same pattern with Nancy – which reinforces my belief that it was him, and not me!

One Response to “Resentment”

  1. She’s a witch! | Holy lands tours - holyland Says:

    […] Resentment « Eds ex-wife is a witch Blog Share and Enjoy: […]

Leave a Reply

