Dissolution

I was thinking over the weekend about the amount of hours that I put into making Ed a better person.  When he was in college I stayed up late many nights helping him to finish an assignment.  He took a class about domestic abuse that had take home tests and there were two nights that I stayed up almost all night helping him find the answers.  I nurtured and gave and did anything possible to help him out.  I was a professional enabler in my marriage but I always believed that he would get done with school, get a job and have a life.  Now – almost 5 years since I moved out – he still isn’t working and has instead been overcome by his addictions and a crazy old woman.  I wonder what happened to his dreams?  I wonder how he can just survive on the outside of a world full of life and opportunity.  I never realized how sad addiction was until I got away from it.

Leave a Reply

