Love Is a Choice Part I

I heard something a few weeks ago that gave me pause.  The exact statement was “Love is a choice, not a feeling.” 

Just chew on it for a minute.  We choose to love someone.  We guide our feelings and we designate love within them.  I love my new husband.  I love my son.  I love my mother.  I still want to sell my mother-in-law on Craigslist but I’m trying hard to work through that.

If we choose to love someone then how or when do we choose to stop loving them?  I stopped liking Ed a long time before I stopped taking care of him.  He was mean, overbearing, a total loser, he had control issues and he expected to do as little as possible to get by.  Why would I choose to love someone like that?  In what ways did he influence my choices?   And, why on earth, when I knew I didn’t want to be there, did I choose to let it all drag on for so long?

Leave a Reply

