Thankful/Grateful

One of the most interesting things I saw when Ed was in recovery was the need for addicts to be grateful.  Grateful that they were alive and grateful for all the opportunities available to them with a life free of drugs and alcohol.

In some ways the same is true after escaping abuse.  I am grateful that I made it out alive.  And I’m thankful that my son and I weren’t harmed any more than we were.  I’m grateful that I have been able to keep moving forward with my life and completing the things I dreamed about.  I’m thankful that I finally have a support system that cares about me all the time.  And I am so happy and satisfied that I don’t have to waste so much time on fear and despair.  It was easy for me to be thankful this year with a houseful of people who were happy to spend time in our home, and with a husband who could behave himself and treat his family and his guests with respect.

Leave a Reply

