Emotionally Immature

Sometimes I need refreshers on alcoholism from Dr. Drew.  I admit I have missed several episodes this season but I caught an excellent statement Wednesday night.  “People with addictions are emotionally and sometimes intellectually stunted at the time that they began using drugs and that is the age that they will function at.  Through recovery, they will be able to mature.”

Ed and I started dating when I was 18 and he was 30.  I’m sure that I’ve mentioned that before.  Ed used alcohol for the first time when he was in his early teens, 12 or 13.  By the time he was 16 he was using multiple substances, and at 18 he had a near fatal drug overdose before a rock concert.  He got clean right before I met him.  Even though he was physically 30, he was emotionally/intellectually a teenager.  In his 20’s he suffered a closed head injury, which impairs logical thought and can contribute to poor decision-making.  I wonder what he would have been if he could have stayed clean the last 15 years?  Would it have increased his maturity?  Would he have been less controlling and manipulative?  What would have been different in our lives?

Leave a Reply

