The Ghost of Thanksgiving Past

It’s funny – all week this week I have been thinking about Thanksgiving.  The one’s I spent in Colorado with Ed’s family, the one’s I spent in Lincoln with my mom and grandma.  The first time I fed my son mashed potatoes and gravy.  And about how Ed’s friend Bob always calls me around Thanksgiving.  I wonder if he’ll call this year? 

It will sound strange but I’m finally ready to talk to Bob.  In a weird way I miss him.  Even though I didn’t always agree with his decisions, he was always true to himself.  Being afraid of Ed all the time has come and gone.  I don’t mean that I think he won’t jump into my life again someday and scare the bejeebers out of me, but for the moment, the worst of the threat has passed.  I have reached the point that it’s ok to tell people I have a good life now, and that I had to leave Ed because of his addictions.

Leave a Reply

