Honesty and Recovery

Yesterday morning at church our interim pastor asked a few people to share their God stories as part of the church service.  One woman told us about God finding her while she was in jail for a drunken driving arrest.  I know – everyone can find God in jail but listening to her recovery story made me remember all the things that I loved about NA.

I’ve never been in recovery.  It’s not that I haven’t been a party girl.  I’ve tried and given up a lot of things.  But I’m lazy – so if there is any work at all associated with getting high, I’m just not interested.  I also have a fear of needles and police officers, so I’ve lived a tame life by some standards and a WILD life by others. 

Hearing her story took me back to NA and AA dances, speaker meetings, state conventions and the JOY and HAPPINESS that people felt at having their lives to live free of the chains of addiction.  I met one of my dearest friends because she dated Ed’s sponsor for a while.  Good things came into my life because of Ed’s recovery and I still pray that he will find his way back to a program that can give him a chance at happiness.  When Ed was happy with his recovery our lives were good, when he wasn’t they were rough, and when he went back to using it almost killed us both.

Leave a Reply

