About Being a Responsible Adult

Last night when I was shoveling snow, in the dark, I thought about Ed’s reluctance to take responsibility for anything.  It reminds me of my future sister-in-law.  It is surprising the number of people who numerically “grow up” and then wait for opportunities to fall into their laps.  I am a hard worker with a high level of commitment.  I will stay at work even when I don’t want to because something has to be finished.  I stay up late at night studying and push harder than my classmates because I know what I’m capable of.  I have often wondered about the primary differences between people who push and people who wait.

At church on Sunday we each received a random piece of paper with something to consider or work on in the new year.  Mine was contentedness.  This might seem like a good or easy thing, but for me this is exceptionally hard.  I always want better.  I want to run or bike faster.  I want to get an A on every assignment (I have a cumulative 4.0 and will complete my graduate degree in 6 weeks).  I want to have a better body.  I want to pay off my debt as quickly as possible.  I want to live in a bigger house.  There is nothing content about my drive.  I often feel if I sit back and look at what I have accomplished I might lose some of that drive and push.  And I like those things about myself.  It is so hard to find balance. 

I never want to be Ed, or Shelby, or some of the people I have known in my life.  I don’t want to wait for life to bring great things to me.  I want to run out and find them.  Tromp through the wilderness, leave what I am not interested in, shake out what I am and prepare for the next great adventure! 

 

Leave a Reply

